Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 1st, 2008

I’m ugly when I exercise

Here are some pictures of me during the triathlon last weekend.

As you can tell, my face is uglier than usual when I’m running, cycling or swimming.

Thankfully, there are no pictures of me in the swimsuit — I might be arrested for posting those online.

It also appears as though the long, snowy winter has taken its toll on my pasty white shoulders and arms. You can hardly see the biker’s tan lines on my massive pythonesque biceps.

If any of you want to do a triathlon with me, I’m also doing one on May 31 at Crystal Hot Springs. It will have a shorter swim in the pool. CLICK HERE to register and join me.

Read Full Post »

Not as gray as Jason, mind you, but still going gray.

That’s right, I’m older today than I was yesterday.

With a little luck, and a lot of pedalling, I’ll make it to 100.

For my birthday, I’m going to go buy this book, read it and see if I can live it.

Ride a century when you turn a century.

That’s the promise offered by nationally-known cycling writers Roy M. Wallack and Bill Katovsky in Bike for Life, a blueprint for using cycling to achieve longevity, fitness, and overall well-being. Bike for Life’s cutting-edge, science-based plan can slow and even reverse the age-related deterioration which begins in most people around age 35, leaving you functionally younger and more vital. Using cross-training, interval training, periodization, smart eating, and breakthough exercises designed to spur natural growth hormone production, Bike for Life can help you protect and rebuild age-battered muscles and bones, restore a tall, youthful posture, heat up a stagnant love life, and even ride faster, stronger, and longer than you could last year. It won’t be easy, but for those who plan on rolling into triple digits on a bike, not a wheelchair, the payoff is beyond measure: The endless joy of riding a bike across town, or across the country.

I don’t know if I’ll actually live to 100 or even be able to ride a bike if I do, but I sure hope so.

Read Full Post »